Have you ever thought of dating, living or even getting married a star? Or actor? Maybe a singer? Well, of course many of us are fans of Brad Pitt’s body and his pretty face or David Beckham’s attractive smile. Many of us love them and keep their posters secretly or maybe not. But really have you ever dreamed about living with them or being their friends? What does attract us to them? Definitely it is their appearance and probably nothing else. Well, many of them are really talented people and their works are influential. At least we do not know them as people. These things are obvious and controversial.

What am I talking about? I will try to explain. As for me I admire works and creative life of Serge Gainsbourg. He was a French actor, singer, songwriter, composer, poet. In general he was really outstanding and gifted person. He had that unusual voice, very deep and specific, I even would say very sexy. Gainsbourg performed mainly chanson. Actually, he varied musical styles, but my favorite one is namely chanson. His gaze was seducing as well as his voice actually. He dated Brigitte Bardot some time, their love was ardent but not long. His big love was Jane Birkin, their relations were turbulent and crazy. Shortly speaking he was an outstanding Man. Gainsbourg lived bright life. Many would envy his craziness and passion for life.

I do not speak French, unfortunately. So I didn’t pay much attention to the lyrics of his songs. I just enjoyed the rhythm, the tune and of course his voice. Once I watched his film “Je t’aime moi non plus” about homosexual love and broken hearts. The movie appeared to be quite provocative. Then finally I found out what his songs are about. Many of them are really beautiful, melodic and sweet. But their meaning… Some of them are with double-meanings and concern taboo themes. Listen to “Lollipops ” and “Je t’aime… moi non plus” and you will understand what I’m talking about. Shortly afterward some of his songs were banned and censored in European countries, cause their lyrics seemed to be offensive and obscene.

I’m not moralistic, no! I’m still in love with everything he did. But it turned that his image as I envisioned differed from actual person as he was in life. I remember reading one of his interviews, it seemed to me to be very rude and outrageous. His words surprised me really. I’m sure he wasn’t much serious, apparently he was just ironic and kidding about everything he said. But in my mind his image changed. I don’t remember what he was talking about exactly but it was something concerning women and it sounded pretty dirty. After this interview I doubted if I had really wanted to meet this man in actual life or had been his friend if I had a chance. I didn’t disappointed, not at all. But there is something changed in me, my attitude, admiration or adoration I don’t know. I can hardly explain and express it. It was just blind belief. No more.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

